Hellooooooo!

I’m not really sure how this is gonna work.

I don’t have a plan for how often I’m going to write or if I’m even going to take the time to design it. I just.. made it. Specifically, for these 3 reasons:

  1. Several of my friends told me I should do it. (S/o to Joy and Elle!) When I asked them whether or not they would actually read it, they sincerely told me they would, so THANKS YOU GUYS!
  2. I attempt to follow the trends. A few of my friends have actually started their own blogs recently, and theirs look amazing. (I was jealous.)
  3. I’ve always wanted to make one. At the beginning of 6th grade, I threw myself into the world of YouTube (and One Direction), and I decided that one day I would become a vlogger, or video blogger. After realizing how much time and skill it took to edit and promote videos and actually become successful, my new dream was to simply write my own blog. It did not matter to me if everyone read it or if it was perfectly polished, just that it was a place where I could be myself. (And maybe not be judged by my grammatical errors/limited vocabulary?)

So there’s the reasons why I made it. Now, let’s talk about me! (Yay for narcissism!)

Things to Know About Savannah Grace

-If you couldn’t already guess, my real name is Savannah. When I was in Kindergarten, there was another Savannah in my class, so one of us had to choose a nickname. My parents had already called me Vannah a few times before and I liked the name. So, I took it and it stuck. (Actually, my nickname as a child-and now- was Vannahpooh, like from Winnie the Pooh. Hence my obsession with the picture above.)

-I have one older sister who is in her freshman year of college hoping to study graphic design. We are COMPLETE opposites in every way. Also, my parents are separated and are getting a divorce soon which is for the best. I rely on them way too much for my age, but I treat it as their last chances to spoil their baby.  😛

-My family suffered a house fire in late November 2016 that burned a lot of the underground facilities like the plumbing and air systems, but none of our actual possessions burned inside the house. Still, everything else had tons of smoke damage, and the house had to be entirely redone. As I am writing this, I am currently living with my dad (who was in a separate house at the time of the fire), and my mom and sister are staying with friends. The house should be finished soon, and, when it is, we are hoping to move somewhere new to get a fresh start.

-I have 6 pets: 3 dogs- Eska, Marley, and Midnight; 2 cats- Prince and Baby Tiddy (I’ll explain later); and 1 horse named Bose. They’re all super annoying, but I love them to death (especially Baby Tiddy).

-I am 16 years old, living the life with my Volkswagen Jetta named Retta.

-I am the mom of my friend group. I enjoy knock-knock jokes, puns, and any kind of riddle you can throw at me. When my friends are with me, I try to take care of them and not let them to do anything too irresponsible, but we’re also the nerds of the school so we don’t get up to too much.

-I am currently OBSESSED with the SacconeJolys on YouTube. If you don’t know, they are a cute Irish couple living in Britain with 3 kids and 6 dogs, and they have vlogged every single day for the past 8 years. They just had their third baby, so my life is complete. And I love watching other YouTubers, too, like Shane Dawson, Strawburry17, danisnotonfire, amazingphil, and so many more.

-When I spend time with my dad, all we do is watch movies and TV shows, and it’s honestly one of my favorite things. We’ve watched Supernatural, The Office, Once Upon a Time, Parks and Recreation, Lost, The Walking Dead, etc. Basically the best ones.

-I aspire to maybe become a journalist someday. It’s a new path that I haven’t looked into a lot before, which is why I’m hoping this blog and the other steps I’m taking will help me discover some things. My dream job would probably be to work at Buzzfeed (if it doesn’t die out within the next decade).

-I live in the South, which says a lot for itself. I love the environment here, but I don’t love the weather. I like watching football, but I don’t like a lot of the people that watch it. Meaning, I don’t agree with the typical Southern football-watching Republicans that make up this state. Most of all, I love how familiar I am with this town, but I want change. So, I’m hoping that one day I can move out of here and go somewhere up North.

-I used to play piano, but then I figured out 1) I have no rhythm and 2) I’m not that kind of person who is obsessed with music. It’s really weird for me because I see all these people who have so many artists and bands that they love, but I only have a select few that I listen to consistently (Ed Sheeran, Kelly Clarkson, Taylor Swift, HAMILTON SOUNDTRACK, Pentatonix), and I think that’s only because I literally know all the words to their songs. Which brings me to say….

-I like singing a lot. I sing in the shower, I sing in the car, I sing to make my dad annoyed, etc. Yet, as I said, when I sing I don’t really focus on the music, I focus on the words (which explains why I’m not even that good of a singer). Currently, my favorite song to sing is “How Far I’ll Go” from the movie Moana. I will literally scream the last note at the top of my lungs just to see how bad it sounds.

-I really love theatre. It’s one of my pathways that I considered going down as a career, but money is tight and my talents are limited. I’ve been in shows like Shrek: The Musical (as Gingy), Junie B. Jones (as Gladys Gutzman), and Willy Wonka (as Mrs. Gloop). I just have a thing for names, I guess.

-I love, love, LOVE to read. In elementary and middle school, I would read a new series pretty much every week. Now that I’m in high school, I haven’t had any free time to actually crack open a book, but I’ve decided that I’m going to squeeze it into my schedule somehow. And, obviously, I really like writing creatively, but I feel super insecure about my grammar and limited vocabulary, so it kind of holds me back.

-I love school. Or… I used to, at least. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely hate getting up early every single morning and spending half of my day surrounded by idiots. The learning part is what makes me happy. If I didn’t have anxiety, I’d probably still love it. But with AP classes and piles of homework, my entire life is consumed by doing my schoolwork and continuing to keep my grades up.

-Okay, finally, I’m going to randomly spit some of my favorite things that will probably not interest you at all: Color- Purple. Food- Angel Hair Pasta. Drink- Apple Juice. TV Show- I have thought extensively about this, and I’ve decided to go with…F.R.I.E.N.D.S. Movie- Perks of Being A Wallflower. Book- Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince. Season- Fall. Holiday- Christmas.

AND THERE WE ARE! You have officially learned all about me. Lucky you. Well, I have to admit, this was kind of a way to avoid doing my homework. Oh, did I forget to mention that I’m a procrastinator? Yeah, it’s really bad. Anyways, thanks for giving this a read. Remember that this was just an introduction. I know this blog seems pretty basic right now, but I’m hoping to make it into something new and unique that you guys will like.

I will start off with weekly posts, but I’m not making any promises.  Feel free to comment on what you would like me to talk about or share this on your social media if you think someone else would like it too!

Love you bunches! ❤

~Vannah Smalley

 

Leave a Reply

