Fictional Character Obsession

Hi guys! Glad you decided to check out my page again. I guess this can be our special thing, now? ….And….you’ve left.

Today I want to talk about something that lot of people will not understand unless you really, really like books. Or… imaginative universes. As I said in my intro, I love to read and watch movies/TV shows with my dad. It’s something about these fictional universes that just pull me in. I get super attached to characters and their relationships with one another, so much that, when it ends, I will bawl my eyes out for days. Eventually I get over it, but some are harder to get past…like the one I’m dealing with this week.

Now, if you have met me before, you might already know that I’m a big Harry Potter fan. I grew up on the entire story: I read (and wrote) loads of Draco/OG character fanfiction, I worshiped Hermione Granger, and I fell in love with Ginny and Harry’s cute relationship. So, of course, when Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them came out in November 2016, I had to go see it. I loved it just as everyone else did, and I already began to notice how much I cared for Newt and Tina’s relationship. (Because who wouldn’t? They’re both precious cinnamon rolls.) I didn’t dwell on it too much, though, ’cause I had a lot going on at the time, rarely enough for another obsession.

Well, I watched it for the second time last Friday with my dad and….. I freaked. I completely fell in love with Newt and Tina, but, more specifically, Newt. Quickly after, I started reading the fanfiction. (I know, I know. Big mistake.) Now, it’s all I do with my free time, and I’m starting to think that this obsession might not fade out like the others.

(And before you click off, no, I’m not going to write this entire post about how much I love Newt, even though I very well could. This is just a transition.)

The point is that my life can become extremely monotonous and unhappy without finding something to obsess about. Before now, I had really nothing that I looked forward to at the end of the day, just homework and maybe watching the one SacconeJoly vlog that’s uploaded daily, but besides that… nothing. (A nerd’s life is a lot different than other people’s, I suppose.)

Although my obsession may be pretty extreme, and it sometimes disrupts the time I’ve saved for my homework, it truly makes me happy at the end of the day. So happy that sometimes looking at Eddie Redmayne’s (Newt’s) eyes makes me want to shoot myself in the head because they’re so beautiful, but still.. happy. Even though everyone around me gets annoyed when I talk about it so much, I know that they will accept it if they know I’m happy.

The whole theme of this post is to not let yourself feel bad about having an obsession (unless it’s truly unhealthy for you). Whether it’s a book, movie, TV show, sport, famous person (don’t be a stalker tho), or a fictional character that has the cutest floofy auburn hair and sweetest smile that ever did exist, don’t give up on it. Your obsessions, your likes, and your dislikes all make you who you are. Besides, it might give you insight on what you actually want for yourself in the future.

Also, don’t be afraid to let your crazy show. Throughout all 16 years of my eventful life (lol not), I have been worried about whether I’m acting WAY too energetic and insane about something that excites me. And I actually was. A lot of people have told me. It’s kinda sad actually. But I am never going to let something or someone stop me from showing my happiness, and none of my friends will either. The key is to meet people who will understand your crazy and accept it, even if they don’t particularly care for whatever you’re freaking out about. Then, when they have their ecstatic moments, you can give them the same courtesy.

And I promise, if you’re obsessing about a fictional character like I am, YOU WILL BE OKAY. Even though they are not real, there very well could be someone out there who is darn close to what you’re looking for. (Please God, give me a Newt Scamander!)

I really enjoyed writing this post for you guys. I’m sorry to all my pessimistic emo readers out there who hate inspirational stuff, but that’s just how I am. As you can tell, I’m not the most eloquent writer. In fact, I really just take whatever sentimental and gooey mess that’s up there in my head and plop it onto the internet for y’all to read. Ya feel?

I’ll see ya next Saturday! Love ya bunches! ❤

~Vannah Smalley

p.s. You guys like the picture up there? Yeah, me too. For those of you who do, let me know if you'd actually like me to write a whole post about Fantastic Beasts/Newt/Tina/Newtina because I freaking WILL. Like.. faster than you can say "Pickett the Bowtruckle!" 😉
 

Leave a Reply

